School of Chemistry

Search site

Latest news

Early Career Scientist Award

18 November 2013

Shahrzad (Shezi) Mohamadi has recently been presented with an ‘Early Career Scientist’ award following her presentation at the In Vitro Toxicology Society meeting.

The meeting was held at the University of Leicester on 4/5th November. Shezi, seen receiving her award from Karl Herbert (IVTS committee member) and Penny Jones (Unilever and IVTS committee member) described her work on an electronic device for screening biomembrane activity towards specific pharmaceuticals. This is yet another success for Shezi who is in the final year of her PhD research under the supervision of Prof. Andrew Nelson; more information is available on his web page.

Summer placement successes

22 October 2013

Eighteen undergraduate students presented research carried out during summer placements at a specially organised symposium on Wednesday 16th October.

There was a variety of different talks ranging from synthetic organic and bioorganic chemistry to materials chemistry, physical and atmospheric chemistry. The event was sponsored by the RSC and Proctor and Gamble, with Tony McMeekin from P&G also giving a talk. Prizes were awarded for the best talks to Megan Herbert who carried out a placement in the group of Prof. Whitaker (Title: Photodissociation of CH3ONO through the application of REMPI and Velocity Map Imaging) and Paul Cowling who carried out a placement in the group of Dr. Turnbull (Title: Rescuing capsid formation of lumazine synthase mutants).

The School of Chemistry at Leeds hosts several undergraduate students in the research laboratories over the summer (29 students in 2013). Funding is provided by the School, Wellcome Trust, RSC, EPSRC, Society of Biology, Industry and the Clothworkers Innovation Fund. For more details please contact Dr. Charlotte Willans (

Unit Cell - art and science collaboration

1 October 2013

Unit Cell is an immersive sound sculpture inspired by the work of the Braggs who first proposed using x-rays to study crystal structures 100 years ago in Leeds

In Unit Cell, the x-rays are replaced by sound waves and the crystal is an array of 125 beach balls suspended in space. The viewer is immersed in a sound field, sometimes loud, sometimes quiet, that fills the space around the sculpture. It was conceived and designed during the ASMbly arts, science, maker laboratory in Leeds (Sept 16-21, 2013) by members of The Superposition collective (, Prof Ben Whitaker and Dr Mike Nix (scientists), Lawrence Molloy and Dominic Hopkinson (sculptors).

Unit Cell will be showing in the Parkinson Court, University of Leeds, Oct 4 6-10 pm during Leeds Light Night.

City quiz

25 September 2013

Our new undergraduate students explored the city as part of their induction.

Some 130 new students met their pal mentors and set off to complete a quiz exploring Leeds city centre and the University campus.

The event finished at the Faversham with a BBQ (pictures)

Art and Science collaborate in Leeds

23 September 2013

The Optical Harmonica is appearing at Light Night Leeds

Phase Revival: an Optical Harmonica is a collaboration between artists, stage designers, a composer and physical chemists (Professor Ben Whitaker and Dr Mike Nix).

It first appeared in December 2012 and is now being staged again as a part of Light Night Leeds on Friday 4th October between 6pm and 10pm at the Leeds City Museum

For further details see

Displaying results 26 to 30 out of 142